Internal Revisionism (30/30 #4 NaPoWriMo)

It’s easy for me to forget things which I’ve never experienced
It’s easy for me to sweep 400 years
Under a rug of privilege
As if they never happened
Simply because they didn’t happen in my lifetime
Realistically they are about as relevant to me
As three-cornered hats and corn-cob pipes
Imagine trying to explain the concept of a pay phone
To an eight year-old with a Skype account
And you see my dilemma
It’s easy for me to see the world with kaleidoscope eyes
Looking out the windows of my rainbow residence
It’s easy for me to forget what others don’t see
It’s easy for me to forget
That interracial-relations and a bi-racial child
Won’t stamp my passport with perspective
It’s easy for me to absolve myself of responsibility
It’s easy for me to evict hatred from my heart
When it never came to pick up the keys
It’s easy for me to forget
That there are those who still remember
And when the moving pictures on my wall
Try their best to jog my memory
With grainy images of burning crosses
And signs of above water-fountains
It’s far too easy for me to change the channel
It’s easy for me to forget how hard it is to let go
How hard it is to wash resentment from your hands
When it’s been branded into your flesh
It’s easy for me to find harmony inside my bubble

Leave a Reply

