The Optimist, The Pessimist and The Idealist (30/30 #2 NaPoWriMo)

“Would you like to donate a dollar to help feed starving children?” the cashier asked the woman at the register.

“Not today.  What difference is my measly dollar going to make anyway?”

“Every little bit helps.  Don’t you think that’s a bit pessimistic?” the cashier inquired.

“I’m not a pessimist, I’m a realist.  Heck, what guarantee do I have that the funds will even reach…”

Suddenly, she was interrupted by the feel of cold steel pressed against her temple.

“Put your wallet in the bag” a muffled voice breathed from behind.

“I…I…I…” the woman stammered.

The intruder noticed the woman trembling as she fumbled clumsily through her purse.

“Oh, don’t worry.  This isn’t a stickup.  Mr. Steele here is my campaign manager.  Your contribution is strongly encouraged.”

Leave a Reply

